Category: Award Categories

1993 – Elizabeth A. Johnson

An author whose work explores feminist theological interpretation has earned the 1993 award. Elizabeth A. Johnson, associate professor in the Department of Theology at Fordham University, won the award for her book, She Who Is: The Mystery of God in Feminist Theological Discourse. In the book, which was published in 1992, Johnson addresses a critical […]

1993 – Donald Harman Akenson

Ireland, South Africa and Israel may seem worlds apart. But similarities among groups in these politically troubled countries help explain why they cannot maintain peace within their borders. The similarities also can help predict the events that lie ahead, says Donald Harman Akenson, winner of the 1993 award. In his 1992 book, God’s Peoples: Covenant […]

1993 – Roland Tharp and Ronald Gallimore

Two California professors who advocate changing the educational environment to improve learning won the 1993 award. Roland Tharp and Ronald Gallimore describe in their 1988 book, “Rousing Minds to Life: Teaching, Learning and Schooling in Social Context,” a comprehensive approach to retooling education. Tharp and Gallimore suggest three keys to educational development — activity, context […]

1993 – Karel Husa

Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and conductor Karel Husa won the 1993 University of Louisville Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition. Husa, the Kappa Alpha professor at Cornell University, won the award for his “Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra.” The work was commissioned by the Frank Kerze Jr. Fund and was premiered March 2, 1989, by the University […]

1992 – Ralph Harper

The 1992 winner Ralph Harper, wrote an insightful and timely essay on the meaning and experience of “presence.” It is timely because, as Harper sees so clearly, ours is an age longing for deep and lasting relationships, between people and with divine transcendence. Intuitively, we know the importance and personal significance of being present for […]

1992 – Samuel Huntington, Herman Daly and John Cobb

  One explores the reasons behind and the future for worldwide democratization; the other suggests the “growth is good” mentality of modern society is leading to the demise of the human race. Both are ideas that will be vital to world order in coming years. For that reason, Samuel Huntington, author of The Third Wave: […]


1992 – Carol Gilligan

By listening to the way children and teen-agers speak about themselves and their lives, Carol Gilligan changed the way educators think about adolescent development and education. That research, revealed in her book “In a Different Voice: Psychological Theory and Women’s Development,” led to Gilligan’s selection as winner of the 1992 award. In the book, Gilligan […]

1992 – Krzysztof Penderecki

A Polish composer known for sending moral and political messages through his music has won the 1992 award. Krzysztof Penderecki won the award for his symphonic piece, “Adagio for Large Orchestra.” Commissioned by Radio France and the French secretary of state for the 200th anniversary of the Declaration of the Rights of Man, the work […]

1991 – John Harwood Hick

Dr. John Harwood Hick, Danforth Professor and Chairman of the Department of Religion at Claremont Graduate School (California), is the 1991 award winner. He is also Director of the James A. Blaisdell Programs in World Religions and Cultures at Claremont. Based on his 1986-87 Gifford Lectures, Professor Hick, in “An Interpretation of Religion: Human Responses […]

1991 – The United Nations World Commission on Environment and Development

Economic development and sustained growth in the world’s standard of living cannot occur without a strong, global effort to protect the environment. That belief is the basis for Our Common Future, a seminal 1987 report by the United Nations World Commission on Environment and Development, which has earned the 1991 award. Chaired by former Norwegian […]