Scholars Program

The Grawemeyer Scholars with UofL Interim President Greg Postel at the 2017 Grawemeyer Awards ceremony

The Grawemeyer Scholars with UofL Interim President Greg Postel at the 2017 Grawemeyer Awards ceremony

The University of Louisville established the Grawemeyer Scholarship to honor UofL alumnus and benefactor H. Charles Grawemeyer, the namesake of the University of Louisville Grawemeyer Awards.

Each year, ten Grawemeyer Scholars receive a full-ride, four-year-renewable scholarship, based on their promise for undergraduate research, leadership, and service to the University, as exemplified by their test scores, high school grades, letters of recommendation, and records of extracurricular achievement.

Grawemeyer Scholars receive a dedicated program of civic, cultural, and leadership education during their freshman year, during which Program administration and UofL faculty work to match them with an undergraduate research experience in any field of study offered at the University.

The scholarship may also be used to fund a semester abroad, which the Program strongly encourages and works with the Study Abroad Office to facilitate.

The Grawemeyer Scholars Program is part of UofL’s family of prestigious full-ride-plus “Mentored Scholarship Programs,” which includes the McConnell Scholars Program and the Brown Fellows Program.

Scholarship Details

Full in-state tuition, plus a stipend for room, board, and books. Non-resident recipients will receive an enhancement to their National Scholars award.  31 ACT or 1360 SAT (CR + M) and 3.75 GPA. More information and application materials can be found on the UofL Admissions Mentored Scholarships web pages.

Current Scholars

2016 – Amanda Arts, Brandon Brown, Connor Burns, Alisha Deshmukh, Sam Embry, Gabrielle “Ellie” Farley, Garrett McGrady, Davis Pyle, Graham Reynolds, Kayla “Maria” Shields.

2015 – Rachel Benzing, Joseph Graf, Poonum Haldankar, Carly Newman, Stephanie Russell, Joshua Stewart.

2014 – Glen Gnadinger, Joshua Kotter, Nicole Robertson, Clayton Truman, Andrew Bratton, Dustin Cox.

2013 – Conner Collins, Nicholas Daniels, Peter Heiniger, Naethan Mundkur, Larissa Pack, Rachel Sandman, Rachel Thompson

Mentored Scholarship recipients outside of the Kentucky state capitol

Recipients of Mentored Scholarships — Brown Fellows, Grawemeyer Scholars, and Jones Scholars — presented their research at the Posters at the Capitol event in February of 2016.

Grawemeyer Scholar Nicole Robertson presents her chemistry research project at Posters at the Capitol.

Grawemeyer Scholar Nicole Robertson presents her chemistry research project at Posters at the Capitol.

2017 Scholars

This year’s incoming class of ten Grawemeyer Scholars includes five Governor’s Scholars, two National Merit finalists, three valedictorians and one salutatorian. Together, they have a 33.6 average on the ACT exam, and one student has a perfect 36 score. They are all from Kentucky.

Andrew Albrecht, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Lexington. Andrew graduated from Dunbar High School’s selective Math, Science and Technology Center. He is an AP Scholar with Distinction, a National Merit Finalist and an elite-level gymnast. A student of German, he currently plans to major in computer engineering and computer science.

Nicholas Beeny, Paducah Tilghman High School, Paducah. An accomplished trombonist, chorister and drum major, Nicholas also excels in the classroom. Among his honors are the University of Louisville Yarmuth Book Award, AP Scholar with Distinction and participant in the Governor’s Cup in Social Studies. He plans to major in music education.

Caroline Boone, Gatton Academy, Bowling Green. Caroline graduated from the residential Carol Martin Gatton Academy at WKU. Before she left Nelson County High School to attend Gatton, she was an accomplished softball player and competitor in scholastic competitions. At Gatton, she has focused on advanced computational problem solving. She plans to major in computer engineering.

Sabrina Collins, Simon Kenton High School, Independence. Sabrina’s list of accomplishments includes valedictorian, AP Scholar with Distinction, Governor’s Scholar, AP Chemistry Award, and AP Language and Composition Student of the Year. She was a member of the girls’ tennis team at SKHS, is a choir member and worship leader in her church and plays the guitar. She plans to double-major in chemistry and math.

Lindsay Haralu, Mercer County High School, Harrodsburg. Mercer County’s valedictorian and class vice president, Lindsay has also been a Governor’s Scholar and a four-year winner of her school’s Mathematics Academic Excellence Award. In addition to playing soccer and running track for her school’s varsity teams, she also served as co-captain of the academic team. She will major in civil engineering.

Dustyn Hofer, McCracken County High School, Paducah. Dustyn is McCracken County’s valedictorian, a National Merit Finalist, and an AP Scholar with Distinction. He has been a member and officer of his Quick Recall and Academic Teams, a member of the Future Business Leaders of America, and an officer in his school’s Beta Club and World Language Club. He plans to major in mathematics and physics.

Madeline McCloud, Craft Academy, Morehead. Though an active student for two years at Russell High School, where she was a winner in various academic competitions, Madeline decided to transfer to the Craft Academy.  This new, two-year, focused residential program is housed at Morehead State University, where she has conducted neuroscience research. She will major in biology.

John Moore, DuPont Manual High School, Louisville. John, a Manual High School valedictorian and Governor’s Scholar, is also an accomplished musician and an AAU basketball player. He was won numerous science fair and leadership awards. Among his science projects in high school, he studied solar energy cells at UofL’s Conn Center for Renewable Energy Research. He will major in bioengineering.

John “Will” Sebree, Randall K. Cooper High School, Union. The salutatorian and a Senior Board member at Cooper High School, Will is a founding member of his school’s physics club. He was a varsity soccer player and track team member. A certified life guard, he also teaches swimming lessons at the YMCA. Will plans to major in mechanical engineering.

Lindsey Smith, Assumption Academy, Louisville. Lindsey was a Governor’s Scholar and a winner of Assumption’s McAuley Scholar award, among other honors. She is an accomplished circus performer and trapeze artist, and has taught circus and gymnastics techniques. She is an active volunteer and tutor for organizations that serve children with disabilities. She will major in education and behavior disorders.