Category: Religion

1997 – Larry L. Rasmussen

Larry L. Rasmussen, Reinhold Niebuhr Professor of Social Ethics at Union Theological Seminary in New York City, won the 1997 award for the book Earth Community, Earth Ethics. The $150,000 Grawemeyer prize is presented jointly by the Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary and the University of Louisville. Rasmussen shows through the book how the current environmental […]

1995 – Diana L. Eck

An author who interpreted her experiences as a Christian encountering God through dialogue with other major world religions has earned the 1995 award. The award is given jointly by the Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary and the University of Louisville. Diana L. Eck, a Harvard University professor of comparative religion and Indian studies, won for her […]

1994 – Stephen L. Carter

A law professor whose book asks hard questions about how separation of church and state often dismisses the importance of religious beliefs has earned the 1994 award. Yale University professor Stephen L. Carter, renowned for his study of constitutional law, won the award for his 1993 book The Culture of Disbelief: How American Law and […]

1993 – Elizabeth A. Johnson

An author whose work explores feminist theological interpretation has earned the 1993 award. Elizabeth A. Johnson, associate professor in the Department of Theology at Fordham University, won the award for her book, She Who Is: The Mystery of God in Feminist Theological Discourse. In the book, which was published in 1992, Johnson addresses a critical […]

1992 – Ralph Harper

The 1992 winner Ralph Harper, wrote an insightful and timely essay on the meaning and experience of “presence.” It is timely because, as Harper sees so clearly, ours is an age longing for deep and lasting relationships, between people and with divine transcendence. Intuitively, we know the importance and personal significance of being present for […]

1991 – John Harwood Hick

Dr. John Harwood Hick, Danforth Professor and Chairman of the Department of Religion at Claremont Graduate School (California), is the 1991 award winner. He is also Director of the James A. Blaisdell Programs in World Religions and Cultures at Claremont. Based on his 1986-87 Gifford Lectures, Professor Hick, in “An Interpretation of Religion: Human Responses […]

1990 – E.P. Sanders

Dr. E. P. Sanders, a professor at Oxford University, is the first recipient of the Louisville Grawemeyer Award in Religion. This award is presented jointly by Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary and the University of Louisville. In his 1985 book Jesus and Judaism, Dr. Sanders carefully, clearly and unpretentiously explores a simple but profound idea. Jesus […]